Wildcard Wednesday: slow and steady

What does it mean to be consistent?
Webster defines it as ‘constantly adhering to the same principles.’
Synonyms include dependable, expected, logical, persistent, rational, steady, unchanging, and uniform.
Antonyms include varying and irregular.
I think the one that speaks to me the most is steady and uniform.
How consistent are you with

Your goals?
Your healthy eating?
Your workout routine?
Your job?

Without getting to personal, let’s talk about the one that applies to me the most and maybe you too: exercise.

IMG_2196.PNG

Human beings are naturally impatient and today’s world of quick fixes and instant gratification ( and everything) doesn’t help matters.
This article says that no matter what we do in life we will not achieve the success we want unless we work at it day in and day out for months and months. This applies to your exercise program, too. You can have the best diet and trainer in the world but if you lack consistency you will get no where.
A constant routine will take some time to get use to and develop.
However I have a few recommendations you can do to get into the groove of a routine a little faster:

1-pick an exercise program you like and want to do- this could be a new challenge like running a marathon; an old hobby that you want to return to like dancing or swimming; or joining a gym and taking part in group classes, both new and familiar- have fun or you will never be consistent

2-set a time to work out everyday and try your hardest to go at a consistent time every single day- I once read to schedule your exercise like you do appointments ( on the calendar)- this way you are sure to show up

3-get a workout partner- accountability and motivation, even persistence from a partner on day when you least want to go to the gym, always helps- sometimes a good swift kick in the butt is all you need

4- if you don’t feel like going to the gym or exercising, do it for 10 mins- if you still feel crappy, then stop- it is likely at this point that endorphins will be kicking in and you will finish your workout-I recently heard this strategy, applied it on one of my lazy days, and was proud to say it worked- remember: no one ever regretted getting up and exercising, just not starting

5- exercise first thing in the morning or on your way home from work- I do not exercise in the morning, unless it’s like 9 am on a Saturday morning- however I do go to the gym straight from work- no stopping by my house for clothes or a snack as I know I will find something that needs my attention ( probably the pups)- this keeps me structured

6-keep a journal of your workout plan and progress- log your activity everyday- I write or find 12 week plans, log them in a journal and add my progress everyday- this is the difference between training and just working out- your training to get stronger- yes I’m that anal person in the gym that carries around my little book-but it sure is fun to go back and reflect on how far I’ve come

I promise. That if you get a plan and be consistent you will see results.
It won’t be fast. Remember it took you days/ months/ years to get where you are now.
But be consistent.
Don’t jump from plan to plan.

IMG_2197-1.PNG

So what do you think?
What are you consistent with and what could you improve on?

Remember: life’s a journey….not a race. Exercise is also a journey….to be your best self! 😉

Let me know what you thought of this post. Be nice. Karma is a bitch.

