Wildcard Wednesday: The healthiest spaghetti ever!!!

I thought I would share a simple, low-carb, low fat, low calorie healthy recipe with you.

I’ve mentioned spaghetti squash on here before and I think I even mentioned using it as a substitute for regular spaghetti dishes (in fact, I think I promised this recipe over a month ago-ouch!).

I know what you are thinking…really? Good? How can anything like this be good?????

And by no means is this recipe intended to replace any traditional Italian spaghetti dishes. It’s merely a substitute..,when you want to shave some calories and carbs but keep the same great taste ( hey-extra calories for wine).

Trust me guys…try it. It’s simply delicious!

Health benefits:

It’s the time of year for everything squash (besides pumpkin). They are everywhere in the grocery store, in all colors and sizes. Green, orange, yellow…round, oblong, funky shaped…small, petite, and extra large!

But did you know that spaghetti squash (and likely all squash varieties) are high in folic acid, potassium, vitamin A, and beta carotene.

Wowzer!!! Eat up!Spaghetti Squash

The recipe:

A tried and true recipe (if you want to call it that) for any kind of squash, is to cut it in half, scrape out the seeds, spray/ rub with oil, sprinkle with seasonings of your choice, and roast at 400 for 1 hour. Simply delicious, even put back into the skillet to ‘fry’ it up a little…..

However, if you want something different…something to replace or satisfy that spaghetti noodle craving that you are having…then, don’t blink or you may miss a step or two of this fabulous recipe! 🙂

Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce

IMG_2179.JPG

1-Put the whole squash in the microwave for 3 minutes-this is to soften the squash so that you can cut it
2-very carefully, slice the squash into 2 pieces
3-scrape out the seeds-you can save to roast separately (but I never remember to do this)
4-spray/ rub the squash with oil (I used coconut oil-use whatever oil you choose)
5-sprinkle the squash with seasonings-I used simply S&P
6-Lay the squash cut side up on a sheet pan & roast in a 400 degree oven for 1 hour
7-when the squash is cool enough to touch, scrap the squash in a bowl with a fork, like spaghetti

 

IMG_2180.JPG

8-While the squash is cooking, brown the ground meat (I used beef; however, I bet turkey would be just as good)
9-add the mushrooms to the meat, if you choose-we love fungus and add mushrooms to any and everything! 🙂
10-add the pasta sauce to the ground meat-here’s a tip to take your pasta sauce up a notch: add about 1 teaspoon of sugar to the sauce while cooking-I’m not kidding…it takes the pasta sauce, homemade or store bought, to an entirely new level!!!!
11-plate the spaghetti squash with meat sauce and ENJOY!!!

(please pardon the horrible picture taking-I’m blaming the wine)

I’m not kidding friends…unreal!!!

Delicious!

You can enjoy two platefuls of squash and meat sauce and not feel guilty with these statistics:

  • spaghetti squash-46 calories & 10 g. carbs per 1 c. serving
  • spaghetti noodles-221 calories & 43 g. of carbs

Plus, the spaghetti noodles are (likely) ultra- processed and the squash is from the earth!!!

Winner, winner!!!!

Let me know if you have tried this and love it…or hate it!

Do you enjoy squash? How do you like them cooked?

As always, the recipe is my own as are my opinions-I was not compensated for any product referred to in this post
One thought on “Wildcard Wednesday: The healthiest spaghetti ever!!!

Let me know what you thought of this post. Be nice. Karma is a bitch.

