Weekly ‘wine down’: A pic, app, quote and (festive) drink!

Whoop whoop!
It’s Friday and to make it better, for some of us, it’s a longgg holiday weekend!
Can I just say “Thank you Columbus!”

Let’s wine down with some internet favorites from this past week:

 

To attempt:

Is this not the cutest picture ever?
No, that’s not my babies but…..
Coming to a facebook or instagram feed near you…if I can get my 2 to cooperate! (btw-I envision Desi being the one in the pink-I love how it is covering up her eyes and she’s still standing there, with a smile)

38 Brilliant Dog Care Ideas to Make Your Life Easier:  11) Use a teapot to rinse dogs off in the bathtub without getting water and soap in their eyes.

 

http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/brilliant-hacks-for-dog-owners

To download:
This article provides a list of some great apps to use.
The hubby uses the Waze app that the article refers to. It’s works great! Drivers let you know of cops, roadblocks, accidents, delays, etc… in your driving area, which is especially helpful in metro cities. Did I mention that it alerts you for cops (aka speed traps) in the area? Power in the people!

Apps to make life easier-At our small, fast-moving nonprofit company, everyone does a couple of jobs -- and productivity apps help us manage roles that shift between coding, writing/designing and running a full-scale confe...

http://blog.ted.com/2014/09/19/25-apps-to-make-your-everyday-life-easier/

To watch (again):
This short, hilarious video is seriously funny…and familiar? Anyone else have this ‘male’ problem in there household? I swear I think they are born with this trait.

Male Pattern Blindness

http://www.scarymommy.com/male-pattern-blindness-husband-afflicted/

To remember (and recite):
My mantra…sometimes. Not on Friday though! Maybe Monday….

winston churchill.

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/217932069443559952/

To cook:

Do you love your slow cooker as much as I do? If not, you need to get one that you love. Do it. Now….I will wait!
A slow cooker is a woman’s (especially a working woman’s) best friend and I promise you that I will post many a slow cooker recipe here.
Also, have you ever had or cooked spaghetti squash? Not only is it delicious, especially topped with marinara meat sauce (like spaghetti with meatballs), but it is super easy to prepare.
Normally, I cook it in the oven for 1 hour on 400. But, I think I will have to give this method a try sometime.
And, hey…don’t knock that spaghetti squash marinara recipe until you’ve tried it. I promise you that you won’t be able to tell the difference in the squash and pasta. Plus, it’s healthy and low carb-ing! (If that’s your thing)

Crockpot Spaghetti Squash

http://www.familyfreshmeals.com/2014/02/crockpot-spaghetti-squash.html

 Last, here are some snippets from my own home and my fall-ish decorating.
Honestly, it’s hard to decorate for fall when it’s pushing 90 degrees outside! Ugh!
I don’t change things up too much for fall. Basically, I change  the couch pillow covers, put those great velvet TJ Maxx find pumpkins on my mantle (with added starfish, of course), throw out some sunflowers in a mason jar, and I change out my front door wreath.
Speaking of…I made that cute wheat wreath from last week’s Weekly Wine Down for the front door (note: mine looks a little wimpy in size compared to the original- but I still like it! Plus, that’s all I had patience for! )!

IMG_2083.JPGIMG_2084.JPGIMG_2085.JPG

That’s it! Have a great longggggg weekend!
Be sure to get some movement (aka exercise) in! It will do you good. Plus, you can take in the beautiful fall foliage (if you have any…which we don’t).

Apple Cider Floats - Delicious and easy ice cream floats that are made using apple cider. These are a great treat that can even be made dairy-free.

http://whatscookinglove.com/2014/09/apple-cider-floats/#_a5y_p=2463514

 

 

 

Let me know what you thought of this post. Be nice. Karma is a bitch.

