Weekly ‘wine down’: Cookies and spice and all things nice!

Wow!
That was a quick week!
I must say I’m glad as it didn’t start off very well (a short burst of a nasty stomach virus) and then allergy problems to finish off the week.
Nice!

So, let’s ‘wine down’ and highlight some of the blog world/ pinterest world/ internet world favorites of the week.

To make:

How cute is this wreath for fall? And it looks so easy!
I think last week I might have hinted at a different wreath DIY project.
That didn’t happen (along with a lot of other things last weekend).
But, I got to thinking and measuring and the apple wreath won’t fit on my front door.
Ever since my wonderful handy-man husband installed a glass front door, I have a problem hanging wreaths on the door. Basically, I can’t. They won’t fit between the glass door and wood door.
So, I need something slim.
This looks like it may work and I saw some wheat at the grocery store the other day.
Bingo!

Fall Wheat Sheave Wreath

http://www.bhg.com/thanksgiving/outdoor-decorations/holiday-wreaths/?socsrc=bhgfb1001146#page=27

 

To wear:

I love pinning fashion pictures, especially for fall. I mostly use them for inspiration, and work it into something I already have in my closet.
The pictures and fashion bloggers just make me not have to think as much, and I like that!

30 Stylish Fall Outfits For Work To Steal | Styleoholic

 

http://www.styleoholic.com/30-stylish-fall-outfits-for-work-to-steal/

 

To plan:

OMG!
I cannot believe it’s 3 months until yet another Christmas!
I think this year I will just leave my tree decorated with a sheet over it.
That’s festive, right?
Last year my mom and I made homemade Bailey’s Irish Creme for some special friends for Christmas, all the while indulging in a little bit myself.
I really enjoyed making the drink and putting it in cute little festive mason jars, while listening to some great Christmas tunes (Michael Buble)!
I’ve got some ideas for this year but they require a little planning and ‘make ahead.’
This site has some great ideas!

12 Holiday gifts that arent cookies from 100 Days of Real Food

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2011/12/02/real-food-tips-12-homemade-holiday-gifts-that-aren%E2%80%99t-cookies/

To bake:

The likelihood of me making these this weekend is 99%, probably to enjoy with my wine tomorrow evening while I ‘wine down’!
I’ve been craving a homemade cookie…a new recipe… but haven’t came across a recipe that I felt like I must try.
I picked up all the ingredients at the grocery the other evening (not the GF flour-intend on using a mix of whole wheat and AP flour instead) and intend on filling the house with spice goodness smells (with the windows open because it is suppose to be true FALL weather here this weekend-yes!)

Soft Batch Apple Cider Gingersnap Cookies are soft, chewy and apple-cider spiked! #glutenfree | iowagirleats.com

 

http://iowagirleats.com/2014/10/01/soft-batch-apple-cider-gingersnap-cookies-gluten-free/

 

To inspire:

I pre-ordered this cookbook on Amazon a couple of weeks ago and I received it in the mail this week!
Don’t you just love getting gifts in the mail, especially those you kind of forgot about? 🙂
I absolutely love this food blogger’s website, full of easy, healthy and low calorie, full of flavor, creative and beautiful recipes.
I’ve made many and enjoyed all!
So, to find that she has a cookbook…well, I had to have it! Plus, free shipping with Amazon Prime!
I also want Ina Garten’s new cookbook, but it’s not out yet.
I may save that one for Santa (not likely).
Check out the Skinnytaste website and recipe listings.
They are tasty and very easy!

150 Recipes that are Light on Calories, Big on Flavor! Pre-order yours today on Amazon, Target, B&N or wherever books are sold.

http://www.skinnytaste.com/p/cookbook.html

To decorate:

Actually, I already bought some of these cute little velvet pumpkins and did a little fall decorating (that’s all I did last weekend-lots of couch time)!
I looked to purchase a few of these cuties last year (at TJ Maxx, of course-I mean, where else would I shop?) but only found 1.
So, when I saw 3-4 other styles/ sizes/ colors there a couple of weeks ago, I snatched them up!
Score!
They actually sell these on Etsy (which I totally love and support), if you can’t find at TJ or aren’t a Maxxinista (to which I’m not sure we can still be friends! :).

Love these!I make fabric pumpkins every year- I love them so much I even teach my art students! Can't wait to make these!

http://www.thenester.com/2011/09/plush-pumpkins-a-giveaway-you-will-want-to-win.html#more-23790

That’s all I got!
Enjoy your nice, cool fall weekend!

the quintessential autumn drink. Though I am pretty sure this is exactly what Smirnoff had in mind when they created caramel vodka. 1 part Smirnoff caramel vodka, 2 parts Simply Apple Juice. #Totalwine

(doesn’t this look divine?!?!? No recipe-just add caramel flavored vodka and Simply Apple juice-who knew they make caramel flavored vodka!!!!)

Let me know what you thought of this post. Be nice. Karma is a bitch.

